Summer intensive programme 2013

The source and the form

3rd summer intensive programme of SPT Lavauzelle
July 22nd – August 2nd 2013

Intensive physical/vocal theatre workshop

*

What is my real personal source for acting (point, energy, tone, quality…)?
What is similar between accomplishing a given existing score, and giving birth to a form?
What are the criterions for me to understand whether a path is promising or not?

*

 This work is open to actors, dancers and singers, professional or not, who are willing to immerse themselves in an intensive process of practice. It will last 12 days and will be organised in 4 main sections:

Introduction to Kalaripayatt– physical preparation and practice of the Indian martial art system, led by Sankar Lal Sivasankaran Nair (Studio Kalari, Wroclaw/Trivandrum).
Way to the Personal Sound – session based on ukrainian traditional singing led by Ulyana Horbachevska, singer and actress (Ultramarine/Maisternia Pisni, Lviv, Ukraine)
Searching for an expressive body – movement as a reaction: body investigation and physical theatre workshop, led by the actress and choreographer Cécile Da Costa (Spitfire/Farm in the cave,Prague,Czech Republic)
Towards a theatre of sound – exploration on singing and text practice, and investigation of stage presence, led by members of Théâtre de l’homme ivre (Paris) and collaborators of the Grotowski Institute (Poland): Jean-François Favreau (actor-singer, director) and Marie-Geneviève L’Her (physical theatre actress/pedagogue) – with the assistance of Marc Naya Diaz (Barcelona).

*

After our 2012 programme, dealing with “raw materials”, we want to make another step in our research, which stands on a territory between traditional forms and contemporary creation. This worksession will be, as usual, impulsed and guided by several young professionals who have a first-hand relation to a specific practice. In the continuity of last year’s work, it will consist in a comprehensive physical and vocal training, as well as the learning of forms (songs and physical scores). This time, we will introduce a work on the personal source of the actor, and a research on a creative language based on these fundaments.

.

The work will take place in an old barn, typical of the craft of the “masons from Creuse”, as well as outside, in woods and meadows.

It will be held in French and English, according to the possibilities of the group.
> more than 8 hours of daily work;
> in the evenings : meetings, video projections, talks…;
> open work presentation, at the end of the process, by participants and pedagogues;
> resting and relaxing in the nature, the surrounding countryside and forest.

 *

> Dates: July 22nd , August 2nd (arrival and departure should be planned on the 21st and 3rd)

> Hours: 9-13, 15-19, and evening meetings

.
> Fee for the worksession (12 days/90 hours of work):
– full 530 €
– reduced (unemployed and under 26): 440 €
> Full board accommodation (simple fresh meals prepared on the spot, and accommodation organised in guest houses in the vicinity):
– 12 days (13 nights x 20 €) : 260 €
> Early registration fee (application sent before June 10th)
– full fee: 440 €
– reduced: 350 €
> Travel to the Site is not included in the price. A shuttle is proposed from La Souterraine (train line Paris-Limoges-Toulouse).

> Number of participants : 12 people maximum > Application

Please send a letter explaining :
– your interest
– your performance experience,
– mentioning your perspectives in the year 2013-2014

> Deadlines

To get the reduced fee, applications should be sent by the 10.06.13
Selected persons will be asked to pay half of the fee.

> Answer will be sent until 02.07.13 the latest

> Contact : spt@lavauzelle.org (Marie-Geneviève L’Her / 0033 (0)6 03931399)

*

> Biograms

Sankar Lal Sivasankaran Nair
Sankar comes from Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala,India). He has been studying the Southern style of kalarippayattu since 1994 mainly with Tirupuram C. Madhavan, Jayachandran Nair, as well as Thankapan Assan and Ajith Kumar, and – presently – Raja Gopalan Assan. He is as well qualified with an ayurvedic masseur’s diploma. In the years 2005-2008, he worked with Indian theatre group Milón Méla, co-leading numerous workshops and performing in festivals inIndiaandEurope. Since 2008 he has lived inWroclaw,Poland. He teaches the Southern style of kalarippayattu inWroclaw,Poland, and abroad). He is a co-founder of Studio Kalari and openend his own Kalari inTrivandrum(Kerala) in 2013. [www.studiokalari.art.pl]
.
Ulyana Horbachevska
Ulyana has graduated from Lviv Academy of Art. She draws inspiration from Ukrainian traditional arts, from icon painting and folk painting to ancint singing forms. As an artist, she expresses herself through singing and theatre, as well as painting, costumes and scenography creation. From 1998 to 2003, she worked as a restorer of icons and monumental paintings inUkraineandPoland. From 2002 to 2011, she was a singer, actress and painter in the ensemble « Maisternia Pisni » (www.maisternia.com.ua), which has been a long-term partner of the Grotowski Institute inWroclaw,Poland. With Maisternia Pisni, she recorded 3 CD: “On Sunday morning”, “After Christmas” and “Lightappearance”. Since 2011, she carries on her artistic path and research on her own (she recorded one CD : « Dole ») and collaborates with various structures, international musicians and visual artists (artistic association Triptych [www.artryptykh.com], « Ultramarine » project with Klaus Kugel, Mark Tokar and Petras Vysniauskas).
.
Cécile Da Costa
Since 2005, Cécile has been working as a physical actress and singer. For 5 years, she was a member of Farm in the Cave international theatre studio (Prague, Czech Republic), taking part to the performances SCLAVI/ the Song of an Emigrant, Waiting Room, Divadlo/The Theatre and work demonstrations, under the direction of Viliam Docolomansky, and with the choreographic guidance of Charlotta Öfverholm (DV8). Within Farm in the cave projects, she took part to several research expeditions in Ruthenia (Slovakia), and Brazil Nordeste (work on martial art Capoeira, and dances Bumba meu Boi and Cavalo Marinho). The company performed widely in Europe and outside, and was awarded several times, namely inEdinburgh festival. Cécile is now cooperating with Spitfire Company,Prague, as a choreographer and an actress, as well as leading workshops. [http://infarma.info; http://bezhlavi.cz/spitfire-company]
.
Jean-François Favreau
During his Literature studies, Jean has worked first in an autodidactic group, Compagnie La Machine (Paris). He joined then several musical-theatre projects, as an actor-singer, with Theater TANTO (Vienna, Austria) for Researches of a dog after Kafka, and then Teatr ZAR (Wroclaw, Poland), with whom he performs, since 2008, the triptych Gospels of childhood in a wide international scale. He is as well a long-term collaborator of Sergei Kovalevich in the project Song of songs (Lviv, Ukraine). He is currently working, in France, with Alexis Forestier on The Mystery-of-mysteries (after Cummings). In the frame of the Grotowski Institute’s activities, he took an active part in numerous research expeditions about oral traditional singing, namely concerning Mediterranean area (Sardinia, Corsica, Sicily…). Since 2010, he is leading the international ensemble In medias res. With Théâtre de l’homme ivre, prolonging La Machine, he staged texts of Witold Gombrowicz, Georg Büchner and Robert Walser. He is the artistic director of the Site for Theatre Practices Lavauzelle.
.
Marie-Geneviève L’Her
She first trained as a puppeteer and performed as such with La Machine (Paris, France) during 5 years. In 2004-2005, she discovered physical theatre by collaborating as an actress with Teatr Jednego Wiersza (Opole, Poland; on Zyszczy Nam and Uzytkownia). Then she studied corporeal mime – Etienne Decroux school – in Paris (school Hippocampe, and theatre company Pas de Dieux) and was an assistant of the corporeal mime teacher and performer Thomas Leabhart (Pomona College, California). Since 2009, within the the Théâtre de l’homme ivre, the theatre company she co-founded, she investigates movement, building her own practice and leading workshops. In 2011, she was an artist in residence in Theatre H. Tomaszewski and the Grotowski Institute, in Wroclaw, Poland. There, she created the physical score of the performance Marie, which she has been performing since then. She is also singing with In medias res ensemble and directing the educational line of the Site for Theatre Practices Lavauzelle. [www.lavauzelle.org/thi]
.
.
> Partners:
– Site de pratiques théâtrales Lavauzelle,
– Studio Kalari,
– Institut del Teatre (Barcelona, Spain),
– Théâtre de l’homme ivre,
– municipality council of Janaillat, CIATE, and Creuse district.
*
pictures : M. Zakrzewski, Maisternia Pisni, Théâtre de l’homme ivre, SPT Lavauzelle

Atelier intensif d’été 2013

 

La Source et la Forme

 3e programme intensif d’été du Site de pratiques théâtrales Lavauzelle
22 juillet – 2 août 2013

 Séries d’ateliers de théâtre physique et vocal

> Intervenants

Sankar Lal Sivasankaran Nair (Inde/Pologne) – Kalaripayatt

Ulyana Horbachevska (Ukraine) – chant traditionnel ukrainien

Cécile Da Costa (France – Rep-Tchèque) – théâtre physique

– Théâtre de l’homme ivre : Jean-François Favreau, Marie-Geneviève L’Her (France) – théâtre physique et vocal (dans le cadre du programme « à présent »).

.

> Contenus Cet atelier s’adresse aux comédiens, danseurs et chanteurs, professionnels ou non, intéressés par l’immersion dans un travail intensif.

Il durera 12 jours et sera principalement organisé autour de quatre sections :
 
–        Introduction au kalaripayatt – préparation physique et pratique du système de cet art martial millénaire, dirigé par Sankar Lal Sivasankaran Nair (Studio Kalari, Wroclaw/Trivandrum).
–        Trouver son chant – pratique du chant traditionnel ukrainien avec la chanteuse et actrice Ulyana Horbachevska (Ultramarine/Maisternia Pinsi, Lviv, Ukraine).
–        À la recherche d’un corps expressif – le mouvement en tant que réaction : atelier de recherche corporelle/théâtre physique, dirigé par l’actrice et chorégraphe Cécile Da Costa (Spitfire/Farm in the Cave, Prague, République tchèque).
–        Vers un théâtre du son : atelier consacrée à la pratique du chant et du texte, et sur la présence scénique de l’acteur-chanteur, dirigé par les membres du Théâtre de l’homme ivre (Paris) : Jean-François Favreau (acteur-chanteur, metteur en scène) et Marie-Geneviève L’Her (actrice de théâtre physique et pédagogue). Cet atelier s’inscrit dans le cadre du programme « à présent », sur le monde traditionnel.

> Description

Quelle est la véritable source de mon travail d’acteur (quel point, quelle énergie, tonalité, qualité…) ? Quels sont les points communs entre le fait d’exécuter une partition donnée et le fait de créer, donner naissance à une forme ? Quels sont les critères qui me permettent de comprendre si une voie est prometteuse ou pas ?

 

*

Après notre programme 2012, qui s’intitulait “Matière première”, nous souhaitons faire un pas de plus dans l’exploration de notre champ de recherche, entre formes traditionnelles et création contemporaine. Cette session de travail sera, comme d’habitude, initiée et conduite par plusieurs jeunes professionnels qui ont une relation directe avec une pratique en particulier. Dans la continuité de l’an dernier, cette session sera fondée sur un entraînement physique et vocal complet, ainsi que sur l’apprentissage et la composition d’éléments (chants et partitions physiques). Cette fois-ci, nous souhaitons interroger, avec l’aide de ces éléments, la source personnelle de chaque acteur, et nous en servir pour fonder un langage créatif.

.

Le travail se déroulera dans une ancienne grange, typique de l’art des “maçons de la Creuse”, ainsi qu’en plein air, dans les bois et dans les champs.
Il sera mené en anglais ou français, selon les possibilités du groupe.
> plus de 8 heures de travail quotidien
> le soir : rencontres, visionnage de documents vidéo, discussions ;
> présentation de travail ouverte, en fin d’atelier, par les participants et les intervenants ;
> repos et détente dans la nature – environnement de campagne et de forêt.
.
> Dates: Du 22 juillet au 2 août (les arrivées et départs auront lieu le 21 juillet et le 3 août)
Présentation publique de sortie d’atelier le 2 août
> Horaires: 9-13h, 15-19h, plus des soirées-rencontres

> Prix:

Frais pédagogiques (12 jours/90 heures de travail) : 530 €

Tarif réduit (chômeurs, moins de 26 ans) : 440 €

Hébergement en pension complète (repas préparés sur place et hébergement en gîte dans le village le plus proche), pour 12 jours : 260 €

Une réduction sur les frais pédagogiques est proposée aux personnes qui enverrons leur demande d’inscription avant le 10 JUIN (le prix de l’hébergement reste le même) :

                        Tarif plein: 440 €
                        Tarif réduit: 350 €

Le voyage jusqu’au Site de pratiques théâtrales Lavauzelle n’est pas pris en charge. Une navette est néanmoins proposée depuis La Souterraine (ligne ferroviaire Paris-Limoges-Toulouse).

.

> Nombre de participants : 12 personnes maximum

> Pour participer :
Pour participer, merci d’envoyer un message décrivant :
– votre intérêt,
– votre expérience d’acteur
– et vos perspectives pour l’année 2013-2014.

.

> Dates limites :
Les personnes souhaitant bénéficier du tarif “inscription anticipée” devront envoyer leur candidature avant le 10 JUIN 2013.
Les personnes retenues devront réserver leur place en versant des arrhes (50 % des frais pédagogiques et des frais d’hébergement).
 
> Nous reviendrons vers vous : au plus tard le 2 juillet.
.
> Contact : spt@lavauzelle.org – Marie-Geneviève L’Her – 06 03 93 13 99, 05 55 54 91 50
.
> Parcours des intervenants
.
Sankar Lal Sivasankaran Nair
Sankar est originaire de Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala, Inde). Il pratique le kalaripayatt (style du Sud) depuis 1994. C’est principalement avec  Tirupuram C. Madhavan, Jayachandran Nair,  Thankapan Assan,  Ajith Kumar et, actuellement, avec Raja Gopalan Assan qu’il s’est formé. Il est également diplomé en médecine ayurvédique. De 2005 à 2008, il a travaillé en tant qu’acteur avec la compagnie indienne de théâtre Milón Méla, au sein de laquelle il a dirigé de très nombreux ateliers et joué dans des festivals aussi bien en Europe qu’en Inde. Depuis 2008, il vit à Wroclaw, en Pologne. Avec le studio Kalari, qu’il a co-fondé, il enseigne le kalaripayatt en Pologne et à l’étranger. En 2013, il a également ouvert son propre kalari à Trivandrum, en Inde. [www.studiokalari.art.pl]
.
Ulyana Horbachevska
Ulyana est diplomée de l’école des Beaux-Arts de Lviv (Ukraine). Les arts traditionnels ukrainiens sont sa principale source d’inspiration, depuis la peinture d’icônes et l’art visuel populaire jusqu’aux formes chantées anciennes. En tant qu’artiste, elle s’exprime par le chant et le théâtre, ainsi que par la peinture, la scénographie et la création de costumes. De 1998 à 2003, elle a travaillé en tant que restauratrice d’icônes et de peintures monumentales en Ukraine et Pologne. De 2002 à 2011, elle a été chanteuse, actrice et peintre au sein de l’ensemble « Maisternia Pisni » (www.maisternia.com.ua), qui est un partenaire de longue date de l’institut Grotowski de Wroclaw, en Pologne. Avec Maisternia Pisni, Ulyana a enregistré trois disques : « On Sunday morning », « After Christmas » et « Lightappearance ». Depuis 2011, elle poursuit sa recherche artistique à la fois seule (elle a enregistré un CD : « Dole ») et avec différentes structures, artistes visuels et musiciens internationaux (l’association artistique Triptique [www.artryptykh.com], le projet « Ultramarine », avec Klaus Kugel, Mark Tokar et Petras Vysniauskas).
.
Cécile Da Costa
Depuis 2005, Cécile travaille en tant qu’actrice de théâtre physique et chanteuse. Elle a été membre du Studio international de théâtre ‘Farm in the Cave’ (Prague, République tchèque) pendant cinq ans et, dans ce cadre, où elle a pris part aux spectacles SCLAVI/ the Song of an Emigrant, Waiting Room, Divadlo/The Theatre, ainsi qu’à de nombreuses démonstrations de travail, sous la direction du metteur en scène Viliam Docolomansky, et le conseil chorégraphique de Charlotta Öfverholm (DV8). Ces différents projets de ‘Farm in the Cave’ l’ont amenée à prendre part à plusieurs expéditions de recherche en Ruthénie (Slovaquie), au Brésil, dans le Nordeste (travail sur la capoeira et les danses bumba meu boi et cavalo marinho). ‘Farm in the Cave’ s’est produit dans le monde entier et a plusieurs fois été primé, notamment au festival d’Edimbourg. Cécile collabore à présent en tant qu’actrice et chorégraphe avec Spitfire Company (Prague), et dirige régulièrement des ateliers.
[http://infarma.info; http://bezhlavi.cz/spitfire-company]
.
Jean-François Favreau
Pendant ses études de littérature, Jean-François a tout d’abord travaillé la compagnie La Machine (Paris). Il a ensuite pris part en tant qu’acteur-chanteur à plusieurs projets théâtraux, avec Theater TANTO (Vienne, Autriche), pour Les Recherches d’un chien, d’après Kafka, puis avec Teatr ZAR (Wroclaw, Pologne), avec qui, depuis 2008, il joue le triptyque Les Evangiles de l’enfance. Il est également un collaborateur de longue date de Sergei Kovalevich au sein du projet Song of songs (Lviv, Ukraine). En France, il travaille actuellement avec le metteur en scène Alexis Forestier sur Le Mystère-des-mystères, d’après Cummings.
Dans le cadre des activités de l’institut Grotowski de Wroclaw, il prend une part active à de nombreuses expéditions de recherche centrées sur le chant de tradition orale, en particulier dans les îles de la Méditerranée (Sardaigne, Corse, Sicile…)
Depuis 2010, il dirige l’ensemble international In medias res. Avec le Théâtre de l’homme ivre, qui s’inscrit dans le prolongement de La Machine, il a mis en scène des textes de Witold Gombrowicz, Georg Büchner et Robert Walser.
.
Marie-Geneviève L’Her
Elle s’est d’abord formée à la marionnette et a travaillé en tant que comédienne-marionnettiste avec la compagnie La Machine (Paris, France) pendant cinq and. En 2004-2005, elle a découvert le théâtre physique en collaborant en tant qu’actrice avec le Teatr Jednego Wiersza (Opole, Pologne; sur Zyszczy Nam et  Uzytkownia). Elle a ensuite étudié le mime corporel dramatique – technique Decroux – à Paris (école Hippocampe et compagnie Pas de Dieux) et a été assistante du professeur de mime corporel et performeur Thomas Leabhart (Pomona College, Californie). Depuis 2009, au sein du Théâtre de l’homme ivre, la compagnie de théâtre qu’elle a co-fondé, elle mène une recherche sur le mouvement, construit sa propre pratique et dirige des ateliers. En 2011, elle a été accueillie en résidence au Théâtre H. Tomaszewski et à l’institut Grotowski, à Wroclaw, en Pologne. Là, elle a créé la partition physique du spectacle Marie, qu’elle interprète depuis. Elle est aussi chanteuse dans l’ensemble In medias res.
*
> Partenaires :
– Studio Kalari,
– Institut del Teatre (Barcelona, Spain),
– Théâtre de l’homme ivre,
– Commune de Janaillat, CIATE, and Creuse district.
– Programme européen Leader

photos : M. Zakrzewski, Maisternia Pisni, Théâtre de l’homme ivre, SPT Lavauzelle