Voodoo_Holidays

VOODOO_HOLIDAYS

Residence, workshop and artistic action around the arts of Voodoo, in Creuse,

orchestrated by the Lavauzelle Theater Practices Site (Janaillat)

and the Constance Social Club (Faux-la-Montagne)

From June 24 to July 5, 2021

 

Holiday: vacancy, but also “holy day”, for the director Jerzy Grotowski, means a suspended, exceptional time that escapes from productivity. By abandoning the social game, a group of participants makes themselves available to new extra-daily relationships, as well as to a work of self-revelation – what Grotowski calls “act” – including the relationship to the other and to nature. 

Holy is also whole, holistic, a way of perceiving that something occurs when the whole being is engaged, in relation to his environment, which invites redoubled attention to the seemingly most mundane processes.

Vaudou_Holidays is, thus, the organization of a vacation time by meeting and sharing life with a community of Haitian voodoo practitioners. This community, formed in 2015 by the director Fabrice Nicot and his team, around the artistic and ritual form named Crossing the Barrier, is made of six practitioners: priestesses (mambos), singers and percussionists, originating from Jacmel and Cap-Haitien communities.

There is an urgent need for a place where we do not hide ourselves and simply are as we are… Does it mean that we are in a vicious circle, that life is different here, and different there ? No, I think that this will come out outside the place I have been talking about, will come out through a small opening, gap, window, door, penetrate outside.

Jerzy Grotowski, the day that is holy

 

Programme

June 24-30th : A six-day integration of the group of voodoo practitioners into the environment of the village of Faux-La-Montagne under the holistic sign of vacancy. Artistic and / or ritual practices, will be woven into elementary actions of human and collective life, in a way so that they communicate together. In voodoo culture, cooking, sleeping, dreaming, caring, sharing, celebrating, relating to places… form a continuum

This canvas will be irrigated by the proposals and participation of inhabitants, doctors and healers, cooks, farmers and herbalists, funeral workers, artists, fireworks, citizens…

The celebration emerges from the fabric of everyday life, from what we have shared together, from what we have prepared, eaten, assembled, woven into the material and among ourselves. In return, the prosaic is ceaselessly irrigated by the incursion of the sacred into the space of practice.

This six-day common life is open to everyone, without prior registration, and will take place in Faux-la-Montagne and its surroundings, around the Constance Social Club where updated information will always be available.

 

The following days (July 1 to 4), an artistic practice workshop will be organized with the Haitian group, inviting to question through personal and collective experience the ritual forms of voodoo.

To build this workshop programme, the Haitian group and repertoire will be accompanied by 2 other proposals : the choreographer of Beninese origin Vincent Harisdo, together with the team of the “Accordée” project (dir. Nadège Ametogbe), will offer an opening on the Vodù sources of the movement in the traditions of Africa of the west.

The workshop will also make room for the perception of the performing arts of Voodoo by European theater, with the presence of a director close to the work of Jerzy Grotowski’s Workcenter (under confirmation).

The evenings, finally, will allow participants, but also guest artists, to cross their own practice with that of Haitian artists. It will take place at the Lavauzelle Theater Practices Site, in the town of Janaillat.

A scenic / ritual action will also be presented there in the evening, July 4.

 

Haitian Voodoo

The traditional practice of performing arts and ritual Voodoo, or Vodou, or Võdù, has its origins in West Africa. Transposed on its arrival in the Caribbean, due to the slave trade, it becomes in Haiti a resource for the people, making it possible to preserve a space outside of society where the relationship to the world of ancestors can be lived, a space in which to regenerate their community life. It is a space where individuals fulfill themselves. Paradoxically, put “outside of themselves” by the famous possession of the spirits, the celebrants at the same time manifest their own, deep singularity, in very intense connection with the community.

Haitian voodoo plays an economic, social, political and subversive role. Syncretism of African, Amerindian and European cultures, which has become a fully-fledged tradition, Haitian voodoo and its warlike references served as an ideological base for the revolt of the slaves deported to the Island of Hispaniola – today the Dominican Republic and Haiti . Vodou works for social transformation because it is subversive.

Fabrice Nicot and Stéphane Poliakov, Paris 8 University

Invitation to participate : Faux-la-Montagne

The stay at Faux-la-Montagne will be inaugurated with a welcome party, around the lake, and oriented towards a concluding time of joint celebration, a feast / ritual, in the vicinity of the village. To feed the thread of these days and lead to these highlights, we have chosen the channel of a few verbs: eat, care, celebrate, die, sleep.

The inhabitants of the Millevaches plateau and its surroundings are invited to share proposals, initiatives, experiences, questions, skills, or even recipes, in relation to these verbs. This can take the form of a workshop, a collective achievement, a guided discussion time, a walk, a musical moment …

We would like this meeting time to be also activated by the inhabitants of the Plateau, and for it to be a pretext (thanks to the presence of guests), to suspend the progress of the daily imperatives, allowing to reinvent the relationship, the sharing, and the relationship to time.

A framework articulating the various proposals will be prepared in the spring, put in place before the arrival of Haitians and tested throughout the stay.
Registration for the workshop session – Site of theatrical practices Lavauzelle : vaudou_holidays@lavauzelle.org

 

This program is supported from the DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine, the Creuse Sud-Ouest community of municipalities, the ArTeC university Labex, and the Grotowski Institute in Wroclaw, Poland.

The art of Võdù dance is a language, and this language is based on the concept of transformation and metamorphosis, which are the keys to understanding Võdù. Võdù dance can cross the barrier of consciousness to allow us to reach our pre-cognitive being, deeply buried in ourselves. He sees the body as a “time vessel” that transports the souls of our ancestors from the past to the future, and he encourages us to invite them to participate in our present dance. The Võdù dance is characterized by the erasure of character, the differentiation between the natural and the neutral. The passage through the neutral is the basis of the artist’s transformation process, which will then allow him to bring out all kinds of creatures hidden inside.

Vincent Harisdo, choreographer

Vaudou_Holidays

VAUDOU_HOLIDAYS

Résidence, atelier et action artistique autour des arts du Vaudou, en Creuse,

orchestrée par le Site de pratiques théâtrales Lavauzelle (Janaillat)

et le Constance Social Club (Faux-la-Montagne)

Du 24 juin au 5 juillet 2021

Holiday : vacance, mais aussi “jour saint”, chez le metteur en scène Jerzy Grotowski, désigne un temps suspendu, d’exception, échappant à la productivité. En abandonnant le jeu social, un groupe de participants se rend disponible à de nouvelles relations extra-quotidiennes, aussi bien qu’à un travail de révélation de soi – ce que Grotowski appelle l’acte – incluant le rapport à l’autre et à la nature. 

Holy c’est aussi « whole », total, holistique, une façon de considérer qu’il se passe quelque chose quand tout l’être est engagé, en relation avec son environnement, ce qui invite à une attention redoublée aux processus les plus banals en apparence. 

Vaudou_Holidays, c’est ainsi l’organisation d’un temps de vacance par la rencontre et la vie partagée avec une communauté de praticiens du vaudou haïtien. Cette communauté, constituée en 2015 par le metteur en scène Fabrice Nicot  et son équipe, autour de la forme artistique et rituelle Traverser la barrière, est composée de six praticiens : prêtresses (mambos), chanteuses et percussionnistes, de Jacmel et Cap-Haïtien.

Nous avons un besoin urgent d’un endroit où l’on ne se cache pas (…) Je pense que ça va sortir par une petite ouverture, un intervalle, une fenêtre, une porte, que ça va pénétrer à l’extérieur.

Jerzy Grotowski, Jour saint / The day that is holy

Programme

Premier volet

Du 24 au 30 juin, une intégration du groupe de praticiens vaudou dans l’environnement du bourg de Faux-La-Montagne sous le signe holistique de la vacance. Les pratiques artistiques et/ou rituelles se tisseront aux actions élémentaires de la vie humaine et collective, afin qu’elles déteignent les unes sur les autres. Dans la culture vaudou, la cuisine, le sommeil, le rêve, le soin, l’échange, la fête, le rapport aux lieux… forment un continuum. Le rituel et/ou la fête surgissent de l’étoffe du quotidien, de ce qu’on a partagé ensemble, de ce que l’on a préparé, mangé, assemblé, tissé dans la matière et entre nous. En retour, le prosaïque est sans cesse irrigué par l’incursion du sacré dans l’espace du pratique.

Ce temps de vie commune de six jours est ouvert à tous, gratuit, sans inscription préalable, et se déroulera à Faux-la-Montagne et ses environs, autour du Constance Social Club où des informations mises à jour seront toujours disponibles.

 

Deuxième volet

du 1er au 4 juillet, un temps d’atelier de pratique artistique sera organisé avec le groupe haïtien, invitant à questionner par l’expérience personnelle et collective les formes rituelles du vaudou.

Pour construire cet atelier, en regard du répertoire haïtien, le chorégraphe d’origine béninoise Vincent Harisdo, avec l’équipe du projet Accordée (dir. Nadège Ametogbe), proposera une ouverture sur les sources Vodù du mouvement dans les traditions d’Afrique de l’Ouest.

L’atelier fera aussi une place à la perception des arts vivants du Vaudou par et pour le théâtre, avec la présence d’un metteur en scène proche du travail du Workcenter de Jerzy Grotowski (en cours de confirmation).

Les soirées, enfin, permettront aux participants, mais aussi à des artistes invités, de croiser leur pratique propre avec celle des artistes haïtiens. Il aura lieu au Site de pratiques théâtrales Lavauzelle, sur la commune de Janaillat (à 50 km au Nord de Faux).

Une action scénique/rituelle y sera également présentée en soirée, le 4 juillet.

  

Le Vodou haïtien

La pratique traditionnelle des arts vivants et rituels Vaudou, ou Vodou, ou Võdù, trouve son origine en Afrique de l’Ouest. Transposée à son arrivée dans les Caraïbes, du fait de la traite esclavagiste, elle devient en Haïti une ressource pour le peuple, permettant de préserver un espace hors de la société où peut se vivre la relation au monde des ancêtres, un espace où se régénère leur vie communautaire. C’est un espace où les individus s’accomplissent. Paradoxalement, mis “hors d’eux-mêmes” par la fameuse possession des esprits, les célébrants manifestent en même temps leur singularité propre, profonde, en lien très intense avec la communauté. 

Le vodou haïtien joue un rôle économique, social, politique et subversif. Syncrétisme des cultures d’Afrique, amérindiennes et européennes, devenu tradition à part entière, le vodou haïtien et ses références guerrières ont servi de socle idéologique à la révolte des esclaves déportés sur l’Île d’Hispaniola – aujourd’hui République Dominicaine et Haïti. Le vodou œuvre à la transformation sociale, car il est subversif.

Fabrice Nicot et Stéphane Poliakov, université Paris 8

 

Faux-la-Montagne : Invitation à participation

 Le séjour à Faux-la-Montagne sera inauguré par une fête d’accueil, autour du lac, et orienté vers un temps conclusif de célébration commune, une fête/rituel, dans les environs du village. Pour alimenter le fil de ces journées et mener à ces moments forts, nous avons choisi le canal de quelques verbes : manger, soigner, célébrer, mourir, dormir.

Les habitants du plateau de Millevaches et de ses environs sont invités à mettre en partage des propositions, initiatives, expériences, questions, compétences, ou encore des recettes, en relation avec ces verbes. Ceci peut prendre la forme d’un atelier, une réalisation collective, un temps d’échange guidé, une promenade, un moment musical…

Nous voudrions ainsi que ce temps de rencontre soit également activé par les habitants du Plateau, et qu’il soit un prétexte (grâce à la présence d’invités), pour suspendre la marche des impératifs du quotidien, permettant de réinventer la relation, la mise en partage, et le rapport au temps.

Un canevas articulant les différentes propositions sera préparé au printemps, mis en place avant l’arrivée des haïtiens et éprouvé tout au long du séjour.

Lavauzelle : ateliers de pratique artistique

le programme, en cours de finalisation, sera mis en ligne. Les renseignements et inscription à l’atelier sont à l’adresse : vaudou_holidays@lavauzelle.org

Ce programme reçoit le soutien de la DRAC Nouvelle-Aquitaine, de la communauté de communes Creuse Sud-Ouest, de l’école universitaire de recherche ARTEC, et de l’Institut Grotowski de Wroclaw, Pologne.

 

L’art de la danse Võdù est un langage, et ce langage s’appuie sur le concept de la transformation et de la métamorphose, qui sont les clés de la compréhension des Võdùs. La danse Võdù peut traverser la barrière de la conscience pour nous permettre d’atteindre notre être pré cognitif, profondément enfoui en nous-même. Il envisage le corps comme un « vaisseau temporel » qui transporte l’âme de nos ancêtres du passé vers le futur, et il nous encourage à convier ceux-ci à participer à notre danse présente. La danse Võdù se caractérise par l’effacement du caractère, la différenciation entre le naturel et le neutre. Le passage par le neutre est à la base du processus de transformation de l’artiste, celle qui lui permettra ensuite de faire jaillir toutes sortes de créatures cachées en lui.

Vincent Harisdo, chorégraphe